It’s Time to Make my Way Through Some Other MMOs

On Saturday, I picked an MMO out of a hat.

I decided it’s time to make my way through the list of MMOs that I want to try, and I’m been trying to think of a way to do this. Unfortunately, being as indecisive as I tend to be I had a hard time just picking a game and saying “yeah, I’ll play that one”. Then I remembered one of Syp’s projects where he made a list of MMOs put them in a hat and then would tackle whichever one he picked for an evening. I really like this idea, but I want to stick with the game longer than one evening.

To do this I’ve decided that I am going to need to implement a schedule, as juggling three MMOs will not be an easy task, especially considering how well I’ve done trying to balance playing two.

You see, this June will mark my 12th year playing RuneScape, and in February, I hit 3 years in Guild Wars 2. I have yet to hit the level cap in either game or be anywhere near completing everything I would like to. In both games, I have one main character. I have dabbled with alts in RuneScape but the majority of my time playing has been devoted to one character, and in Guild Wars 2 I still have four empty character slots that have yet to be touched.

I was introduced to RuneScape when I was in middle school. Those early years saw consistent play and progress. I had quite a few friends in real life playing the game and found a wonderful clan, but both of these things faded. Friends left because they lost interest or they moved onto to other MMOs. The clan I was in eventually disbanded, and since then I have been in multiple clans, but none have been able to capture that feeling of home like that first one. For some people, seeing friends leave a game can act as a deterrent to keep playing, but for me as mostly a solo player I continued on; yes I missed my friends but I also hadn’t lost my passion for the game. I continued playing, and at some point my sister also started playing, so now if I am not soloing we are running around as a duo getting stuff done.

2016-04-20 (23)
I’ve been here a long time, but there is still so much to do.

When it comes to Guild Wars 2 I feel like we were never properly introduced; we never really connected. While I do contribute some of this to getting into the game after my real life friends had already moved on, having yet to join and be active in a guild, and not reaching out to people I know are playing; I think the main reason why I don’t feel a strong connection to Guild Wars 2 is the same reason why for the last few years in RuneScape I have had this feeling of being lost in a familiar world.

That reason would be: playing sporadically.

Some weeks I get a few hours in, others a few minutes. This tendency to play very little or play quite a bit and then not play for days, weeks, or months has plagued me for some time now. I eventually became content with just logging in for daily rewards, because trying to balance high school/university with playing two MMOs and trying to dabble in this game or that game started to feel overwhelming.

I use to have a near encyclopedic knowledge of RuneScape, but now I just feel lost because there is so much that has escaped my notice over the years. As for Guild Wars 2, when you play a part of the story one week and then pick the story back up a few weeks (or months) later not only is it easy to forget what’s going on, but I also find I feel disconnected from my character and the supporting characters. I’ve been playing the personal story on and off for 3 years, and the last time I played it was about 7 months ago.

gw303.png
Come sit at the waterfall and watch the days pass by. Dragons can wait.

So, I think it’s time to change things up a bit.

I’ve come up with a tentative schedule, that I’ll be testing over the next few weeks. Hopefully, a schedule combined with chronicling my progress here will make my gaming time more consistent and deliberate.

Back to the hat.

The game I pulled out of the hat on Saturday was DC Universe Online. My plan with each game I pull out of the hat is to progress to a natural stopping point and then move on to another game. This stopping point may be level cap, end of the main storyline, or when I’ve reached a point where I am not having fun anymore. I figure it will be different for each game, especially since I plan to progress through each game as an F2P player, so I might be in one game for a few weeks and another for a few months. When I’m not in DCUO I will be buckling down in RuneScape and Guild Wars 2 attempting to get reacquainted with each game.

My goal is to make some actual progress in exploring the MMOs out there that I’ve been meaning to dig into but either never get to or just play enough to sample the beginning and never go back. I am hoping over the course of this journey I will gain a good perspective of how feasible it is to progress through these games as an F2P player, and just become a more informed player of MMOs.

If you’re playing the game I’m currently making my way through or have played it feel free to shoot any advice or tips you have my way.

2 thoughts on “It’s Time to Make my Way Through Some Other MMOs

  1. tyrannodorkus

    Haven’t played Runescape, but I have played a lot of GW2. There’s been a lot of changes, but since you’ve been away a long while it seems, it ought to not be to much of a jolt to the system since you’ll have to relearn anyways. If you find you aren’t having fun leveling up in one zone, make your way to another city’s starting area. Might just need a change of scenery. If you don’t mind buying stuff off the auction house, look about getting the cheapest green equipment around every 10 or 20th level achievement while equipping anything good you find along the way.
    I haven’t been playing it much recently though, but if you need a group, I can patch up the game.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the offer. Exploring Guild Wars 2 is one of the things I love most about the game, and honestly is probably something else that has kept me from completing the story, because when I see something interesting I always run over and take a screenshot.

      I finally reached Chapter 7 of the personal story, so I am feeling like some progress is being made. Slow and steady…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

