I Need More Time to Write

Blaugust Day 21

letters-801755_1920

Yesterday Kateri Morton, a fellow Blaugust participant, said something that really stuck with me:

My struggle at the moment is not having nothing to write about, but not having long enough to do the posts I want to do properly.

This is exactly how I feel. I’ve been keeping a list of topics to write about, and I can always refer to the writing prompts over on Anook. But on days like today when I am not exactly sure what to write and I’ve given myself little time to write- I look at the things I want to write about and I feel like I won’t be able to do them justice. So far I’ve deliberately avoided topics that require anything more than a little research. It would probably help if I just picked a topic at the beginning of the day or night before and brainstormed ideas throughout the day until I was ready to write, but that hasn’t happened much.

Anything I have been writing outside of Blaugust has taken me a few days to collect my thoughts and write down. And, that is more of the norm when I write. Lots of thinking, lots of listing, more thinking, a bit of procrastination, and then write. With Blaugust it’s been different, and I’ve had to change my normal writing habits and fight those mental blocks (especially when it comes to starting) to make sure I am posting daily.

It all makes me a bit uncomfortable and insecure about my writing, but at the same time it is a much needed challenge. If I want to overcome years worth of built-up aversion to writing- I’m going to have to write.

Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
5 thoughts on “I Need More Time to Write

  1. I’m currently studying professional writing and editing, and writing every day is something they are really drilling into us, so you’re definitely doing it right! I’ve taken to just scribbling down things when I get the chance, but I couldn’t bring myself to blog about it anymore. I hate how rushed and flimsy some of my latest posts have been.

    Great work making it this far! You have done much better than I did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. It definitely feels like some days I am writing about nothing and throwing words at a blank page hoping they make some sense.

      Flimsy is a good way to describe how writing can feel especially when your feeling rushed.

      Like

  2. I am here to do the silly posts with no useful content whatsoever so that the rest of you can feel you’re at least doing more than I am. 😀

    For some reason I’m in the mood to act as court jester this month. I’m probably avoiding getting too involved.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thinking of an idea in the morning, or even the night before has definitely helped me on days I work. I like to mull things over before I write, so using time i don’t have to focus on other things for that is great. I’m also trying to space things out, do something that’s pure opinion, then something that needs research, then maybe just a general update. It’s also helped, though, that my primary MMO has had such a huge update to talk about.

    Still, even being lucky it’s going to be nice to get back to a writing style I’m more comfortable with. Just think the writing everyday has been really good for getting me to write even when I don’t have The Best Idea Evar.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

