What does it take to scratch that gaming itch?

Blaugust Day 19

baby-elephant-111395_1920

I’ve always been a casual gamer, but my gaming habits have changed over time as life has become busier and I’ve transitioned from varying levels of education.

This past year I have been especially discontent with the amount of gaming I’ve done. Most of the time it was: load up something every few weeks, play a little, and then go a few weeks with nothing. Sometime between April and June this year I asked myself “How much time do I need to put in, and what do I need to get done to feel like I’ve scratched that gaming itch?”

It turns out not very much. So between April and June my gaming schedule, for the most part, looked like the following:

Step 1: Log in to Marvel Heroes. Claim daily login reward. Exit game.

Step 2: Log in to Guild Wars 2. Claim daily login reward. Run around and take some screenshots. Exit game.

Step 3: Log in to RuneScape. Use daily keys on Treasure Hunter chests. Exit game.

And that’s what my gaming schedule looked like most days. There were some exceptions. Some days I got carried away taking screenshots in Guild Wars 2 or I battled with my inventory and bank space in Marvel Heroes. And a few times I did Penguin Hide and Seek- I’ll have to talk about penguins in RuneScape sometime. All you need to know right now is that there is an organization of penguins known as the Killer Gentoo Penguins (KGP) and they’re on a mission to destroy humans and control the world. And occasionally I would get a good hour or more in one game or the other, but not very often.

duck-435659_1920So far this summer my gaming habits have looked pretty similar to what they were in June. I surprised myself when I realized how little gaming (if we can even call it that, I’ll save that discussion for another day) it takes to scratch that itch. But for now I’m pretty content logging in, do something really quick, logging out, and saving those longer gaming sessions for another day. There are days where I dream about playing for hours, because sometimes we all need to just sit down and get lost in these virtual worlds. And those days do come around here and there, and last just long enough to hold me over until next time.

Maybe I’m just content with an inconsistent gaming schedule/habits instead of very little gaming.

Let’s make this a writing prompt, or just let me know in the comments.

What does it take for you to scratch that gaming itch?

worded another way…

What does it take for you to be content with your gaming schedule/habits?

or how about another way…

How much time do you need to put in, and what do you need to get done to feel like you’ve scratched that gaming itch?

Word it however you like. I’m really curious to see what other people say.


Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
Leave a Reply

