Unexpected Words

Blaugust Day 16

[A few days ago I said “at this point nothing is off-limits for this blog- within reason of course” and now I find myself writing about something that I did not expect to.]

pathway-687650_1920

In the past when it comes to writing I think the only thing I have loathed more than writing in general is writing poetry. I have nothing against poetry, and quite enjoy reading it, but writing it felt like torture.

The only times I have written poetry that I can recall are in school- mainly high school. Where we were generally given a subject and asked to base our poem on it or were asked to write a certain type of poem. After these experiences I never expected that I would voluntarily write poetry- write it for fun, write it to clear my head, or to sift through my thoughts.

Yet, on Friday just before leaving for a walk a little saying popped in my head, and from there it developed into a short poem as I strolled from street to street.

Words are fickle
Words are fine
Weave them, mold them
In your mind.

Relinquish your hold,
Break the binds
Share them. Pair them.
Let them shine.

After I realized what I had done my mind entered a state of shock, trying to process what was going on. All I could think about was all the times I’ve toiled over words and despised my attempts at constructing poetry. Yet, at the same time my brain was flitting about enjoying the words it joined together.

Later on Friday, I think as way to process I wrote another poem.

I do not know what’s going on
But to the words I must succumb.

To flit, to fly
Forgotten dreams
to reach the sky.
Alas, aloft-
Forsaken worries in fact were not .

For the journey of the meek will start
If only fear and doubt depart.

When Saturday rolled around I didn’t expect to write anymore, but before morning’s end I had written three short poems. Here are two of them:

1.

A soiled path
Regrets partake.
A sullied journey
My path in wake.

If only for a moment to
Forget what’s not,
And start anew.

2.

Indeed I feared I broke the line
Severed the path on which you mine
Confused, Distraught
Now I flee
Only to hope you now be free

And today, I wrote another. Although it took me nearly all day to find the words.

In this land content I lay
A cool wind to guide my way.
And in the sky a giant waits,
Humbly-
reminding fate.

And as I turn I see,
a dewdrop hanging listlessly.
Reflecting fate
Invoking shape
Signaling the stars to wake.

I have shared three of these on Twitter and find myself wondering things like: Are others going to read it the same way I read it or say it? Is the punctuation or lack thereof conveying the rhythm I was hoping for? And, can I sacrifice grammar for rhyme?

While poetry still confounds me I now have a newfound respect for anyone that writes it.

Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
12 thoughts on “Unexpected Words

  1. Wow beautiful! Like you I struggle to write poem if forced to do it. However I can write easily when in correct frame of mind which tends to be depressed. Still, it is useful outlet when I cannot find words to describe my feelings other ways.

    Keep it up! (As long as you are still enjoying this!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Simcha. I haven’t pinpointed what frame of mind these words were coming from, but it is interesting to see how easy the words seem to fall into place sometimes. I am still enjoying it, it’s amazing and strange because I would have probably never been able to write out what I was feeling in prose.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tyrannodorkus

    These are great poems. I’m not sure if I read them as you meant or in the rhythm you wanted, but I still like them. Maybe with trying to write so much, your mind is trying to make sense of words and language and producing this, or you just leveled up and your player decided to put your skill points into poetry. That or you’re soon making rings and becoming Lord Sauron.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I think it is all this writing I have been doing for Blaugust, besides writing for school this is the most writing I’ve done in awhile. Oh, how nice it would be to be able to put skill points into different skills in real life so easily, although I would still have a terrible time deciding what to pick.

      I haven’t contacted any Elven-smiths yet. You know any good ones? *full disclosure: I have not read Lord of the Rings or seen a complete movie* 😮

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tyrannodorkus

        That would be cool to be able to assign skill points in real life. 😀

        No biggy. Lord Sauron had the elves forge rings of power. Some were lost, but the elves hid away 3. 7 were given to the dwarves and 9 to men. Sauron himself forged a ring in secret, the one ring, and on it he placed an inscription that reads:

        “One Ring to Rule Them All, One Ring to Find Them, One Ring to Bring Them All, and in the Darkness Bind Them”

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve really been enjoying reading your poetry. Such lovely pieces. Such lovely words.

    I find (with me anyways) it’s often the case that I write poetry in phases. Sometimes my brain works better in poetry than prose. It’s interesting, anyways, how the words can seem to come of their own accord. I’m glad you’re enjoying writing them though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words.

      I have a feeling it’s going to be coming in phases. Yesterday, I was trying to come up with something. Instead of words, I had rhythms playing in my head which was interesting. I don’t think I could have expressed what I was feeling in prose, so I guess my brain decided to try something new. It was strange to just be feeling something and have the words conjure themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Late to this post but great stuff! Poetry is weird — I don’t do much of it either, but when I do it’s kind of like a punch in the gut and OOF out it comes. There’s something particularly raw about poetry, which might be why I’m not comfortable doing too much of it. (Just ask Sylvia Plath…)

    Like

    1. You can never be too late to a post (you can expect me resurrecting your comments section or at least spamming you with Likes over on your blog at some point).

      Thanks. Poetry is definitely weird and takes your mind to a different place than just writing. Even though it’s uncomfortable I find there is some relief when it all comes together. (Looking up Sylvia Plath now.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

