Rambling

Blaugust Day 9

It’s incredibly easy to get stuck in the grind of life and in the process we forget what we’re moving towards. Life often gets overwhelming at times and the anxiety that pops up can come from so many places: work, education, family, friends, goals, etc. We all work so hard at maintaining. Maintaining our home, grades, careers, vehicles, hygiene, diet, and the list goes on. All these things are important but many times not all are moving us forward. I highly recommend reading this post by Julie and Brett Bean that goes into this in a little more detail.

This past year of university especially spring term which ended in June was filled with anxiety, burnout, and malaise. I should have enjoyed Spring term more than I did. I was taking some great classes particularly paleobiology and vertebrate physiology. And I did enjoy these classes- the content was interesting, the professors were fantastic, and the classes directly pertained to my career goals. Yet, I found myself wanting to do other things than study. I would rather draw, watch drawing videos on YouTube, read about technology, and read blogs.

I repeatedly thought to myself if I love these subjects, if I plan to pursue a career where this content will be relevant- why can’t I focus? Why can’t I find the joy in studying and doing assignments? Had my interests and goals shifted and along the way I forgot to send myself a memo about the change.

I think instead my interests have expanded, and I need to learn how to better nurture each one without losing perspective.

The point that I’m trying to make is don’t forget what you’re moving toward. Don’t forget what you love. You may not have found your passion or your purpose yet, I know I haven’t, but chances are you know a general direction in which you want to move, and if so, then you and I are in the same boat.

At this point inspiration has ceased and my thoughts are all jumbled up, but I will be revisiting this topic and related ones in the future. So, I’ll leave you with a quote.

Your destiny is to fulfill those things upon which you focus most intently. So choose to keep your focus on that which is truly magnificent, beautiful, uplifting and joyful. Your life is always moving toward something.

Ralph Marston


Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
4 thoughts on “Rambling

    1. It is tough, fun, and annoying. You want to do this while you’re doing that, and that while you’re doing this. Between passion projects, other people and real life hopefully we all can learn to better utilize our time and energy.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. tyrannodorkus

    Well put. If anything I could add to this – everything takes time to do. I’m learning that the hard way right now during Blaugust. Deciding between writing a post, reading other blogs, playing games, doing any of my other side projects, or even regular stuff around the house. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I find myself starting to do something and immediately my mind jumps to something else- and from there it is a domino effect. Come on brain, let’s just focus on one thing at a time. Remembering that everything takes time is surprisingly hard to accept sometimes, but it is absolutely necessary. Thanks for that reminder.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

