Realization in the Light

Blaugust Day 3


EDM Catch-Up Day 2 and 3

If you’re not familiar with the Everyday Matters Challenge check out my first post here

Yesterday my scanner wasn’t cooperating, but today it kind of sort of cooperated so here we are with an Everyday Matters catch-up post.

EDM Day 2&3
Click to enlarge.
EDM Day 2: Draw a lamp

On the left is the lamp that sits on my night stand. Each night I read, write, or draw by its light. This lamp was given to me by my Mamaw (my grandmother), and as I sit by its light and write this blog post, the purpose of the Everyday Matters challenge is becoming more clear. I see this lamp every day, and each night I flip the switch on and off; like so many things it is easily forgotten and often taken for granted. And more often than not it blends in with the rest of my static room. Yet, if I let it, this lamp can act as a conduit to and trigger of memories. Memories of a marvelously stubborn and admirably blunt woman. A woman whose nemeses were the Western Scrub-Jays, and favorite board game was Aggravation. Snack time was at 7 p.m. and the pièce de résistance was popcorn. My Mamaw was amazing and her love knew no bounds. I am so grateful to have spent the time with her that I did.

If you don’t mind I think I’ll leave things there for today, and continue with Day 3 tomorrow.

Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
One thought on “Realization in the Light

Leave a Reply

