Blaugust Smells Great

Blaugust Day 2

Late start today. I had originally planned to do an Everyday Matters Challenge catch-up post, but my scanner decided that today wasn’t the day for that. Instead, I want to say a few things about Blaugust and talk about another drawing challenge I am doing that I have been slacking on for the past few months. (No, this blog won’t be all about challenges. At least I don’t think it will be.)

Blaugust

We are only 2 days into Blaugust (some of you time travelers are already into day 3), and it has been great so far. I’ve already read so many wonderful posts, and still have so many more to read- still working through all the day 1 posts. For some reason when I started reading through day 1 posts last night I started commenting on nearly every post I read. Unfortunately, since there is somewhere around 84 Blaugustians right now it isn’t going to be feasible to comment on every post this month. Sometimes we enjoy a post but don’t really have anything to say. So I wanted to share a few ways we can show our support besides commenting.

  1. If they’re using WordPress hit that like button if you enjoyed their post.
  2. Favorite and/or Retweet if they tweet about their post, if they haven’t tweeted about their post send out a tweet to the rest of the blogosphere as recommended reading.
  3. On the Blog section of the Blaugust nook click that heart on the right hand corner of their post.
  4. If they provide contact info maybe shoot them a quick email telling them you are enjoying what they’re writing.
  5. Comment anyway. Keep it short and sweet. It can be as simple as “Enjoyed your post.”

I don’t know about anyone else but I would love to receive comments via carrier pigeon.

Okay, this post is already longer than I intended so let’s move onto the next thing.

100 Noses

Back in April I decided that one of the first things I wanted to focus on as I practice and improve my drawing is the human head. So I decided I would start by breaking the head down into its main parts, and go from there. Noses are first on the list.

Noses 1.10001
Click to enlarge.

If you have been following me on twitter prior to Blaugust you may have already seen this page. Anyway, here are 1-10, all done from reference. I’ll be posting a page of 10 at a time, and I already have another page that is nearly filled.

Well, I have some blog posts to read. I hope everyone has had a wonderful day.

Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
11 thoughts on “Blaugust Smells Great

  1. Ohh you draw! Whats your fav thing to draw? Some fine noses there, hehe 🙂 I like your thoughts about comments,likes and tweets. There is not always something to say, do its nice to show support in other ways too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do draw and have been drawing every day in some form or another (sometimes it’s just scribbles) since June 2014. Hmmm, my favorite thing to draw…at the moment is probably faces even though their difficult, and any type of animal comes in a close second. Thanks for the compliments 😀 Yeah, even if there is nothing to say I think everyone appreciates knowing that someone read and enjoyed their post. I see you have a snazzy new avatar I am going to have to jump over to your blog to see your drawings!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just started to draw, so not really that much to see 😛 Got like a month worth of practice. Tried drawing at the start of the year but gave up. But started again a couple of weeks ago 🙂 I’m more of a manga / cute animal kind of person, cause they are easier then real things like people and animals:)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Also, as Missy said, nice noses!! I have the drawing skills of a crazed llama but I love it as an art form, so please please don’t hesitate to show us more! Drawing dunces like me will be properly awed by your mad skillz. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tyrannodorkus

    OOO, I didn’t know that about Anook. I’m having trouble trying to find ways to support others since I’m not always sure what to say, or not knowledgeable about the game they are talking about. And I’m with you, there are a lot of bloggers to go through and I can’t think of something for them all.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Don’t expect to have to comment on every post you read! That way lies madness, especially during Blaugust. And don’t feel bad if you’re not that into some blogs or blog posts – nobody can please everyone, but we’re such a large community for this event that everyone is bound to find something they like.

      Check out this post: http://endgameviable.com/blaugust-2015-feeds-in-opml/ for useful info on getting EVERYONE (so far, as of yesterday) imported into a reader like Feedly… It will make life a lot easier than bookmarks or memory, or even Anook (though that has the blog, which many update with their posts, as well as the daily Blaugust Day X forum post where people also post).

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks for adding me to your feed and for the compliments 🙂 I think the drawing of a crazed llama would be pretty cool although it might be more fun to watch it make the art. Thanks for the advice on comments and not feeling bad if you’re not into someone’s blog. There is definitely something for everyone. I am going to have to have a look at that list and double check my Feedly. One way or another I am going to get caught up on my Blaugust feed!

        Like

    2. Glad I could help. Although I still find it a little maddening scrolling through that Blogs page on Anook. I would love it if you could heart posts in the designated Blaugust Day X threads. I know how you feel, especially not being knowledgeable about the game someone is talking about. Hope you’re having a great Blaugust! I’ll be visiting your blog real soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

