Blaugust is Here

blaugust_2015_logo


Blaugust Day 1

Today is the first day of Blaugust, a challenge started by Belghast over at Tales of the Aggronaut inviting bloggers to write 31 posts during the month of August. It doesn’t matter if you blog about games, drawing, books, life, or just stuff- everyone is welcome to join in.

I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to start off Blaugust with, but luckily Belghast posted a writing prompt that will act as a great way to start things off. (Throughout Blaugust you will be able to find writing prompts over on the 2015 Writing Prompts thread posted on Anook. These prompts aren’t required, they’re just a way to get those fingers moving if you don’t know what to write about. Void from A Green Mushroom has already posted a bunch of great prompts to get you started.)

What are you hoping to get out of Blaugust this year?

I’ll start off with what I have already got out of Blaugust this year, and that is the successful launch of this blog. Mustering up the courage to start a blog has been something I’ve been struggling with for awhile now, but with all the buzz around twitter and across the blogosphere about Blaugust I finally decided it was time to stop making excuses and just dive in.

gw468
When a challenge awaits face it head on. Chances are you’re more capable than you think, and most of the time it doesn’t even require pants.

Now for what I hope to gain. Over the years I have struggled with writing, it has become something I loathe. This is mostly because it seems to take me an eternity to form and organize my ideas into something coherent enough that I feel comfortable writing it down. I sit there in my chair or on the couch and think for more time than I care to admit. Eventually, I come to a point where I have written out most of what I am going to write in my head and I can finally put pen to paper. I want to move past this aversion to writing, and just let the words flow while still being mindful and deliberate about what I am saying. There was a time when I enjoyed writing. I fondly remember concocting stories of evil care bears, giant cockroaches attacking band kids, carrots traveling to Mars, and battling Bigfoot with Nerf guns.

So maybe I don’t want to be telling the same kind of stories as I was in Middle School, but I do want to enjoy writing again.

During Blaugust, I also hope to connect with the great, vibrant, and thriving community of bloggers out there. For the past year, I have discovered so many great blogs written by thoughtful, interesting, and creative people. It’s time to step beyond lurking reading, and start interacting with the authors of the blogs I enjoy and the new ones I discover thanks to Blaugust.

Lastly, I leave you with a challenge I have set for myself during Blaugust, and that is to read every post written by my fellow Blaugustians. Sure, my eyes may rebel and I may fall asleep and drool all over your post but it will be worth it, right? Right!?

Goodluck my fellow Blaugustians, it should be a fun ride.

Blaugust Initiative Page

Blaugust Nook
10 thoughts on “Blaugust is Here

  1. Well, it looks like you’re off to a great start, and well done on getting the blog up and running!

    Seems like you got a good head on those shoulders, so I’m sure you’ll do just fine this month. It does seem daunting should you be going for a perfect record this month, but take each day at a time (with brainstorming some ideas ahead of time, naturally), and it becomes a bit more manageable. It’s a whole 31 days to come up with 31 (well, 30 now!) fresh ideas.

    Best of luck, and happy Blaugust!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for the encouraging words and advice zyngor! I’m looking forward to the challenge, but I definitely need to set some time aside for brainstorming.

      Best of luck to you as well! I hope you have a great Blaugust.

      Like

  2. Welcome aboard! I love new bloggers the most because they are still figuring out how to fly. Remember, not knowing is the state in which you should find yourself. Lack of confidence? You haven’t earned that yet either!

    Keep trying though and all of that will come in time. You’ll have more online friends than ever and lots of things to read/write about. It’s an adventure that I have enjoyed taking and I would wish it upon everyone else.

    Glad to see you join in and I look forward to your efforts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the warm welcome C.T. Murphy! I do indeed feel like a young fledgling making my way through the unknown. I’ll keep at it, and I look forward to what this adventure has in store.

      Have a wonderful Blaugust!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a clean shiny blog! ❤ If you ever have any questions or feeling like you are stuck, lack of confidence or whatever comes to mind, be sure to give me a poke! OR any other blogger for that matter, you have entered the sweetest community there is, and you could not have joined at a better time!
    It's going to be fun following you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Blaugust Day 13 | Static Refresh

Leave a Reply

