Every Day Matters

Relaxing on beach RS

A Challenge

On July 2, 2015, I started the Everyday Matters Challenge. The EDM challenge is an invitation to anyone from the novice (that’s me) to the professional artist to push their creativity by drawing the things of everyday life. The challenge was spawned from a book by Danny Gregory called Everyday Matters. I have not read the book, but I stumbled upon the challenge list created by Karen Winters on Danny’s site. The list consists of 328 things to draw that are, for the most part, something from everyday life.

Since June of last year I have been drawing every day, sometimes it may just be a line or a few scribbles, but the point is to get something down. Now, drawing every day has become a habit and I look forward to putting pen or pencil to paper and seeing what happens.

When I discovered the EDM challenge my interest was immediately piqued, it’s not always easy to decide what to draw every day. This challenge helps me with that daily decision, and I am looking forward to how it alters my perspective of everyday life. Whether you read it as Everyday Matters or Every Day Matters both apply. This challenge isn’t only about leveling up your artistic skill, but also an appreciation for the everyday things in life and each new day itself.

EDM: Day 1

The first thing to draw on the list was a shoe, so here is my shoe.

EDM Day 10001

With each sketch, I hope to provide an accompanying story/memory or just a few details about the item, the situation, or my thoughts on the sketch itself. Over the next few days, we will be playing catch-up because currently I am on Day 29.

Just Start

Before I wrap up my first post I want to welcome you dear reader and say thanks for stopping by. My original plan for the first post of this blog was to introduce myself and give everyone some background information while explaining my hopes for this blog and the meaning of the blog’s name. I was knee-deep in that post which was originally created in May, but I finally decided I needed to scrap the whole thing, and so I did. I realized that if I didn’t just start- this blog may never see the light of day. Taking that first step is all it takes sometimes. I decided the best way to start was to tell you about a project I am working on right now. Let’s leave the backstories for another time, shall we?

5 thoughts on “Every Day Matters

  1. Pingback: Realization in the Light | Static Refresh

  2. Pingback: Everyday Matters Catch-Up Day 4 & 5 and a Question | Static Refresh

  3. yay! I found your EDM post that you mentioned in your comment. I’ve bookmarked it so I can give this a go later in the year. So much to do right now, I really shouldn’t even contemplate starting yet another project! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Everyday Matters Catch-Up Day 6 & 7 | Static Refresh

Leave a Reply

